Move It Or Lose It

fit 5.JPG



I've been asked so many times about my age and how I keep fit that I decided to start sharing some of that part of my lifestyle. Rather than put it in blog posts, forcing it on those who aren't interested, you can visit this page. When I update anything I will make a note in the post. I thought I would format it by answering questions I am asked. If you have questions feel free ask in the comments section below or contact me through my contact page. 

When I look at my blog's search data I see people are interested in my hair, height, weight, fitness, exercise, age, skincare, makeup, etc. You get the picture. I am not an expert. I am only sharing the things I do and am not making recommendations. 


1. How old are you?

I turned 57 this summer.

2. Where do you get your hair done?

My stylist is in Boise, ID. I have gone to her every since I moved to Idaho about 11 years ago. 

3/ How much do you weigh?

I go between 118 which I prefer to 122. Acceptable to me is 120. 

4. How tall are you?

I am 5'5" if I stretch my neck.

5. How do you stay fit? 

I was raised by a very active dad and a mom who taught me the importance of taking care of my body. My mom taught me about healthy eating and the importance of not smoking. So it has always been a part of my life. She never gave us sugar or sodas and I am grateful because I still have every tooth I was born with.

My diet is not rigid so when I say I do something I mean, most of the time. Maybe 80% of the time. I don't beat myself up too much if do something out of line with what I think is healthy. To me, being happy is the most important thing to staying healthy. If I deprived myself of foods I loved I would be truly unhappy. I love to cook and eat. I try to eat little meat which is not too difficult because I don't think meat has much flavor. It is what you put on it that gives it flavor. I love all fruits and vegetables. I love nuts, grains, beans, etc. Lately we are on a kick of eating a medley of beans and tomatoes with a little roasted chicken breast for dinner and I am addicted. We add a little spice for heat and it is so delicious. I used to love bread but have learned to tone it down a little. I eat a slice for breakfast with a little real butter and a bit of my homemade jam.  I use only olive or avocado oil for cooking. Here is a typical day for me. 

Breakfast: A slice of bacon, one egg, one or one half a slice of whole grain toast with a teaspoon of butter and home made jam, a couple of slices of tomatoes heated up enough to release the lycopene, and a couple of tablespoons of fresh avocado and a sprinkle of sriracha.

Lunch: I make a dip using 1/4 cup of cottage cheese mixed with 1/4 cup picante sauce. I dip organic corn chips (from Costco) in it. I'm addicted to this right now! 

Snack: Fruit or nuts.

Dinner: It varies but we often mix a can of beans (any kind, but we like black or cannelloni) a can of chopped tomatoes ( I prefer fire roasted tomatoes) onion, garlic, jalapenos or some other heat and chopped roasted organic chicken breast. It is fast, easy, filling and delicious! At least a couple of nights a week we will have a burger or home made pizza. I love to make my own crust and pizza which keeps it more healthy. We eat a lot of salads too. I make lots of healthy soups. Recently our favorite is Tom Kha Gai a Thai Chicken and Coconut Soup. 

I love to bake and will make something every couple or three weeks. We have a piece and I freeze the rest in individual sized pieces so we can have a piece each night if we want.

Exercise: I have always been active. It is hard for me to sit long. I have walked, lifted weights, practiced yoga, ran, hiked, etc. I started running in my mid-40s and loved it so much that I still do it. I was loving doing 5Ks competitively and was managing to come in 1st or 2nd in my category but injured myself last February in a race and so am having trouble running fast right now. So recently, my thing is trail running! I live in the mountains and have trails right out my door and it feels good to me to run them. We live at a 5,300 foot elevation and the trails are fairly rugged and up and down hill so two miles is quite a work out. While I build up endurance, I am running trails every other day. I also recently added lifting weights to my routines. The point is I find what I love to do and do it. MORE IN FUTURE POSTS.

fit 1.JPG
fit 2.JPG
fit 4.JPG

So that's it for now! I'll try to add something each week. It may be health or fitness or beauty related. I have so much to share in this vein, drinking?, supplements, hormonal health . . .

Thanks for stopping by!